Fiction

Divorce Proceedings

“Someday, I’ll get you a better ring.”
“I don’t want a better ring. I just want to be with you.”
*****
Sos tasis v’tageil ha-akara b’kibutz baneha l’tocha b’simcha. Baruch atah Adonai, m’sameach
Tzion b’vaneha.
*****
“I’d still fuck you.”
*****
“When things get better, let’s go to Europe.”
*****
“I do.”
*****
“Can I get two notarized copies of the divorce decree, please?”
*****
The flash of blue and red lights.
*****
“Let’s see a counselor.”
“I don’t want to spend the money.”
*****
The sound of glass breaking.
*****
“Your honor, the petitioner requests that you grant a divorce.”
*****
“Signing the papers was the happiest day of my life
“I haven’t loved you in a long time.”
*****
Barukh atah Adonai Eloheinu melekh ha‑olam, asher yatzar et ha-adam b’tzalmo, b’tzelem
d’mut tavnito, v’hitkin lo mimenu binyan adei ad. Baruch atah Adonai, yotzeir ha-adam.
*****
“I always wanted children, but she refused.”
*****
“Do you want me to move out?”
“I don’t know.”
*****
The sound of a siren.
*****
The sound of glass breaking.
*****
“I’ve decided I don’t want children.”
“We should probably break up, then.”
“Oh.”
*****
“You’re acting just like your mother.”
“Well, you’re acting just like your mother.”
*****
“I don’t want a big wedding. Let’s just elope.”
“But I want our families there.”
*****
Sameiach tesamach reiim ha-ahuvim k’sameichacha y’tzircha b’gan eden mikedem. Baruch ata
Adonai, m’sameiach chatan v’chalah.
*****
“By the power vested in me, you are now divorced.”
*****
The sound of a palm against a cheek.
*****
“I’ve decided.”
“Yes?”
“I’d rather marry you than have a baby.”
*****
The sound of glass breaking.
*****
“She won’t put out anymore.”
*****
“You selfish piece of shit, I hate you.”
*****
The sound of glass breaking.
*****
“I remember when more mattered to him than just money.”
*****
“I remember how she used to care. About her career. About her looks. About us. I don’t know what happened.”
*****
“I thought I’d lost interest in sex, but really, I’d just lost interest in sex with him.”
*****
“I’m not handing over the car title unless you agree to give me what I want.”
*****
“He never lifts a finger to clean.”
*****
“He brought her into our bed.”
*****
“Of course I love her more than I love you.”
*****
“The ink isn’t even dry on the papers, and they’re having a baby?”
*****
“Let’s see a counselor.”
“I don’t want to.”
*****
Barukh atah Adonai Eloheinu melekh ha‑olam shehakol bara lichvodo.
*****
“When things get better, let’s go to Mexico.”
*****
“I remember watching her walk down the aisle. It was the happiest day of my life.”
*****
“Was it good for you?”
*****
The sound of glass breaking.
*****
“I want out.”
*****
“Tell me not to leave him at the altar.”
*****
“Maybe I’ll forgive you if you declare bankruptcy.”
*****
“Will you marry me?”
*****
“I don’t want a big wedding. Let’s just keep it simple, go to a courthouse.”
“But I want all our friends to be there.”
*****
“I do.”
*****
The sound of doors slamming.
*****
“I’m taking my dog.”
*****
Barukh atah Adonai Eloheinu melekh ha‑olam, yotzer ha-adam.
*****
“She’s a lazy freeloader.”
*****
“I can’t wait for this to be over.”
*****
“Just how many people did you tell?”
*****
The sound of photographs burning.
*****
Barukh atah Adonai Eloheinu melekh ha‑olam, bo’rei p’ri ha-gafen.
*****
“Did you change your mind?”
*****
“I want both dogs.”
*****
Baruch atah Adonai Eloheinu melech ha-olam, asher bara sason v’simcha chatan v’kallah, gilah
rinah ditzah v’chedvah, ahavah v’achavah v’shalom v’reut. M’hera Adonai Eloheinu yishammah b’arei Yhudah uv-chutzot Y’rushalayim kol sason v’kol simcha, kol chatan v’kol kalah, kol mitzhalot chatanim meichupatam u-n’arim mimishte n’ginatam. Baruch ata Adonai, m’sameiach chatan im hakalah.
*****
“Let’s see a counselor.”
“There’s no money.”

Allyson Whipple is an MFA student at the University of Texas at El Paso. She is the author of two poetry chapbooks, most recently Come Into the World Like That (Five Oaks Press)

Leave a Reply

