Poetry

I am sorry for your loss -a tribute to the victims

I have yet to meet
a word without
an image. Of a young man with
white sclera. Drunken to
a hint of red. So I let
those moments be. In first person
singular. Staying present: I am. Aware
of the narrow confines
holding me as separate from
him. And her. Though we all dance the same
way. Still.
I can’t help but
regret the images I never
read in black and blue ink. A
man with teal eyeliner, a woman
in army-grade. Grief – the truest form of
sorry. For the days you could
have cherished. For the times you’ll never
relish. In your yearbook, I
wrote ‘H.A.G.S’ or something of the sort.
Derogatory. In that I never
took a minute to paint
color in my note – though you deserved.
A rainbow and parade. And strobing
lights of celebration. Now I see
black body bags and
metal zippers.
In the reflection of red and blue. Beams,
for the tone of strobing lights reminds me.
I can’t.
Own the choices we made.
To go out. Or come out. I can’t
claim the rights. Of a story
that leads to your
ending. I once held
a door to a classroom to let you enter.
Before me. Not knowing
the pain I would feel. Standing
for a moment in a room of your loss.

The doctor said she would live in a nursing home, confined to a wheelchair, crippled by pain; that was thirteen years ago. Instead, Mirissa D. Price is a 2019 DMD candidate at Harvard School of Dental Medicine, spreading pain-free smiles, writing through her nights, and, once again, walking through her days. She is a Huffington Post blogger and emerging writer with publications in Yellow Chair Review, The Ekphrastic Review, Scarlet Leaf Review, and Tuck Magazine. Follow Mirissa’s writing at https://mirissaprice.wordpress.com/.

 

2 thoughts on “I am sorry for your loss -a tribute to the victims

  1. Pingback: For Your Loss | mirissa d. price

Leave a Reply

