Poetry

Behind Karla’s

Too long
since I’ve seen you
I hope
you’ll be around each corner
as I walk
the 3AM deserted streets
of New Hope, Pennsylvania
and wonder
how you been
blues guitar
voice of tea leaves
hymns to gods long dead
or not yet born
I trace you to the alley
You lean in the doorway, strum
just a white T-shirt
black skirt in the rain
guitar strap covers desire
I wait
maybe you’ll sing one
you wrote for me
Robert Beveridge makes noise (xterminal.bandcamp.com) and writes poetry just outside Cleveland, OH. Recent/upcoming appearances in Ghost City Review, Minor Literature[s], and Barking Sycamores, among others.
Leave a Reply

