Poetry

What is left unsaid..

In the fall of his life, they walked hand in hand,

To her: moments are thin, like butter on bread,

To him: thick or thin, is your heart fed?

And he:

I talk of bread and butter,

You are wine and cake,

Sunny days, starry nights

The secret places I forsake,

My dreams in flight,

The dreams I make

You are the colors of light,

You are the shadows at night,

You are the air I breathe,

You are the only one I need

In the spring of her life, she squeezed his hand,

To him: bread is life, the treat is cake,

To her: you are more than life, for goodness sake!

And she:

You speak of what we are,

I don’t give it much thought,

I am to you as you are to me

A precious object, not something bought,

The dream I see,

The dream I sought

You are my partner and my friend,

You are my beginning and my end,

You are calmness in life’s seethe,

You are the only one I need

They walked awhile hand in hand,

To her: it is what it is; you are my lee,

To him: it is what it is, and it is we.

 

Scott Jessop

Leave a Reply

